Mount Anville Secondary School

Leinster Athletics

Leinster Athletics

Huge congratulations to our athletics squad who were named 'Best Overall School' in the Leinster region following two long days of track and field championships.

With the younger years winning the titles of 'Best Minor School' and 'Best Junior School' on Wednesday and a number of Inter and Senior athletes claiming medals, the remaining Inters and Seniors confidently took to the track on Saturday. The Senior girls 4 x 300m relay provided the highlight of the day with the Mount Anville team of Jenny Costello, Rebecca Lynch, Isabel O'Brien, and Kate Byrnes claiming gold. Particular congratulations to the three sixth years on this team, claiming an incredible fifth Leinster relay title across their school careers.

A number of others also gained valuable points for the school. In the Intermediate age category, the 4 x 100m relay team of Charlotte Croke, Juliette Dunn, Kate Kirwan, and Kate Byrnes was 4th. Kate Hackett was also 6th in the hammer.

In the Senior age category, the 4 x 100m relay team of Isabel O'Brien, Jenny Costello, Annalie McMahon, and Rebecca Lynch was 4th, Sarah Davy was 4th in the hammer, Aoife McMahon was 5th in the high jump and Georgia O'Keeffe was 6th in the javelin. Combined with Isabel McMahon's fine 4th place finish in the walk on Wednesday, the girls finished runner-up in the 'Best Senior School' category.

Well done to all who competed over the two days, in particular those who may not have medalled by who contributed valuable points to the team total. With only five points between the top two schools at the end, every point was valuable!

Best wishes to those girls who will go forward to represent Mount Anville in the All - Ireland final on the 2nd and 3rd of June.

Ms Corcoran

Mount Anville Secondary School
Principal: Ms. Caffrey
Deputy Principal: Ms. Kelly

Mount Anville Road, Dublin 14, D14 A8P3, Ireland

RCN: 20145095
Students Office
01 283 2373

Finance, Facilities & Operations
01 283 2373

© 2023 Mount Anville Secondary School