Mount Anville Secondary School

Cross Country

Cross Country

European U23 Cross Country selection

Huge congratulations to past pupil Eimear Maher who has been selected as part of the Irish team travelling to the European cross country championships in Brussels. Eimear was selected as part of the U23 team and will compete over a distance of 6km. Best of luck, Eimear!

East Leinsters

Mount Anville retained the title of Best Overall Cross-Country School in East Leinster in some style in Phoenix Park yesterday, claiming six sets of team medals from the six races that were ran!

With over 60 schools and 1,200 athletes in attendance, competition was fierce from the off, with the Junior B Girls the first race on the track. Sofya Corbett and Naoise McCarthy led the Mount Anville charge, claiming silver and bronze individually after a great duel down the finishing straight. With two individual medalists, it came as no surprise when Mount Anville was announced as winners of the team title with the girls joined on the podium by teammates Emily Kearney, Amelia O’Neill, Julie-Anne Kennedy and Juliette Charrier. The second Mount Anville team in this race had a slightly more nervous wait but were delighted when they were announced as bronze medalists, a mere three points ahead of Rathdown! The team comprised of Heidi Kelly, Alicia Davy, Aifric Crehan, Laura Byrne, Amy English and Catherine Beurghs.

Next up were the Intermediate girls. In spite of some late withdrawals, a strong Mount Anville team took to the line for the 2.5km challenge. Olivia Tobin led the Mount Anville charge, displaying her customary powerful finish to stride clear for an individual bronze medal. Strong performances from her teammates Olivia Gaughran, Sophie Rose Walsh, Ciara Dowling, Maria Crimmins and Charlotte Croke saw Mount Anville claim team silver behind an outstanding St Andrews team.

The Senior girls, a number of whom were making a welcome return to cross-country took to the track next. Inspired by Alison Walsh, the squad ran superbly as a collective, claiming a strong silver. Alison was joined on the podium by Aisling Kennedy, Anna Kearney, Annalie McMahon, Isabel McMahon and Grace Naughton.

The day concluded with a large and talented Minor cohort, experiencing their first taste of competition at this level. In the ‘B’ event, Evelyn O’ Rourke and Ariana Dunne, performed like seasoned professionals, as they claimed silver and bronze respectively in the individual event. They also led their team to the title, being joined on the podium by Mia Downey, Annabel Wyse, Thea Murray and Ella McQuinn.

In a one hundred and fourteen athlete ‘A’ event, the Mount Anville squad showed immense spirit, battling for every position in the crowded field. With three of the teams inside the top twenty, the girls confidently awaited team results and were delighted to finish in the silver medal position, a mere seven points behind the winners. The team on the day was Sophie Fleming, Aoife Fitzpatrick, Georgia May Agnew and Orlaith Dowling.

A huge congratulations to all the girls who represented the school with such pride and distinction yesterday. In addition to being a credit on the track, your post-competition assistance was much appreciated by all the organisers. A special word of thanks to our Transition Year helpers Ellen Dineen, Susan O’ Donoghue, Maggie Traynor, Mary Connolly, Kate Hewson, Edie Farrell and Mia Barry who kept the finish line and medal presentation running smoothly all day.

We're already looking forward to the Leinsters!

Ms Corcoran

Mount Anville Secondary School
Principal: Ms. Caffrey
Deputy Principal: Ms. Kelly

Mount Anville Road, Dublin 14, D14 A8P3, Ireland

RCN: 20145095
Students Office
01 283 2373

Finance, Facilities & Operations
01 283 2373

© 2024 Mount Anville Secondary School